Let’s Talk about Yara

There was quite some scene there with Yara Greyjoy during S6E7. Of course the most important part of the speech was her conversation with Theon, her tough love and no-nonsense attitude that makes her awesome, but viewers did take note of the interaction right before that.

Note on spoilers: There are no major spoilers here, but if you don’t want to know anything about Season 6, skip this post. 🙂

I’m talking about Yara’s interaction with the prostitute in Volantis. I watch a bunch of discussions for each episode, and most reactions to this scene were “She’s a lesbian; big surprise” or “I wonder if she and Dany will get it on”. Well, according the character’s wiki page, she’s actually bi- or pan-sexual, but that’s not what I wanted to talk about.

I was surprised no one addressed how much like a man she was behaving. Well, Yara is very much like a man in every other way – she takes the place of a son  for Balon Greyjoy, she is a fierce warrior and commands her own ship and even a fleet. And in this episode we find that she treats prostitutes the same way you would expect a man in Game of Thrones would. (Apologies to men for generalizing, yes I suppose Pod or Jon Snow wouldn’t behave like this, but most men on the show probably would.)

And this did surprise me. Yara being lesbian or bisexual didn’t surprise me, but the fact that she treats prostitutes like a piece of ass kind of made her a little less awesome in my eyes. Idk, maybe a lot less. It goes to show that just because you’re a woman doesn’t mean you treat other women with respect. And in retrospect, it shouldn’t have surprised me because she is Theon’s sister after all. If you remember pre-Reek Theon, you know what I’m talking about.

Leave a Reply

